BJP – JJP Alliance Wins in Haryana Municipal Elections


In the municipal elections held in Haryana, the ruling BJP-Jannayak Janata Party (JJP) alliance has won 25 out of 46 municipal chairpersons’ seats.

The Aam Aadmi Party (AAP) won its first contest in the municipal elections for the post of president in the Ismailabad municipal committee of Kurukshetra district. Nineteen independents were also elected president and one seat went to the Indian National Lok Dal.

The Main Opposition Congress Did Not Contest The Election on The Party Symbol

Voting was held on Sunday for 18 municipal councils and 28 municipal committees in the state.

Out of 28 municipal committees, BJP has won 12, JJP two, AAP one, while independents have won 13 seats.

In Karnal district, the home constituency of Chief Minister Manohar Lal Khattar, the BJP could win only one out of four municipal committee president posts. Three seats went to independent candidates.

The BJP-JJP alliance fielded candidates for the Assandh, Gharuanda and Taraori municipal committees, while a BJP rebel contested for the fourth seat as Nissing committee president as an independent.

Happy Luck Gupta of BJP won the Gharaunda Municipality President’s post by a margin of 31 votes over AAP’s Surinder Singla. Gupta got 5,108 votes.

Election commissioner Dhanpat Singh said there are 456 wards in 18 municipal councils, of which 54 are reserved for scheduled castes and 123 for women.

Similarly, out of the total 432 wards of the municipality, 53 are reserved for scheduled castes and 116 for women.

The Commissioner expressed his gratitude to all the political parties, candidates, public and administration for participating in the elections.

Trending Today

The latest on what’s moving world – delivered straight to your inbox